Multistrada 950

Please login or register.

News: A big welcome to all new members !


Author [ES] [MY] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [NO] [GR] [TR] Topic: Fitting a topbox  (Read 481 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline briantheb

  • MTS 950 Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 158
  • Bike: M/S 950 Touring
  • Town / City: Stirling
  • Country: gb
Fitting a topbox
« on: June 03, 2019, 12:07:26 PM »
I already own Givi Monokey boxes and want to use one as a topbox primarily for extra security when the kids are riding pillion.  Has anyone fitted the 950 out for a topbox without getting the accessory pack, and, if so how did you go about it as I cannot find a base plate for the 950 to attach the Monokey base to !
Full of enthusiasm - in all the wrong places

Offline Frazer

  • MTS 950 Junior
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Bike: Multistrada 950
  • Town / City: Lakeville
  • Country: us
Re: Fitting a topbox
« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2019, 07:19:03 PM »
Hi. Take a look at the SW-Motech Street Rack. https://www.revzilla.com/motorcycle/sw-motech-street-rack-top-case-rack-ducati-multistrada-1200-enduro-950-1260
It says it fits the Givi boxes but I have not tried it personally. Good luck.

Offline ducati_al

  • MTS 950 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 99
  • Bike: MTS 950 - Red
  • Town / City: Crowborough
  • Country: gb
Re: Fitting a topbox
« Reply #2 on: June 03, 2019, 07:54:06 PM »
Hello BrianB.  As you may know the Ducati top box plate comes with the official Ducati top box, which is not cheap.  It's not officially available separately (I wonder why that is  :232:) so unless you can find someone selling the OEM version second hand on a popular auction site or breakers, SW Motec is the only other option AFAIK.  Personally I don't like the SW Motec solution as it's clamp on, rather than bolt on, although I'm sure it will be fine as others seem to use it with no issue.  I went for the Ducati top box and rack for that reason but again, realise it's not going to be for everyone.  SW Motec do a great range of accessories for our Mutleys (I have their engine bars and handlebar satnav mount for example - both excellent).  Hope you get something sorted.

Offline David S

  • MTS 950 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 22
  • Bike: '!8 Multi 950
  • Town / City: Eaton
  • Country: us
Re: Fitting a topbox
« Reply #3 on: June 03, 2019, 10:34:03 PM »
 I added the Ducati (by Touratech) rear rack, and add/remove the  baseplate for the topbox when I tour. The rack is not to big, and fits fantastic! $230 USD. For me, it was money well spent because I now have a rear rack when needed.

Offline briantheb

  • MTS 950 Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 158
  • Bike: M/S 950 Touring
  • Town / City: Stirling
  • Country: gb
Re: Fitting a topbox
« Reply #4 on: June 04, 2019, 08:36:44 AM »
*Originally Posted by David S [+]
I added the Ducati (by Touratech) rear rack, and add/remove the  baseplate for the topbox when I tour. The rack is not to big, and fits fantastic! $230 USD. For me, it was money well spent because I now have a rear rack when needed.
Cheers
Will have a look at Touratechs offering
👍🏻
Full of enthusiasm - in all the wrong places

Offline briantheb

  • MTS 950 Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 158
  • Bike: M/S 950 Touring
  • Town / City: Stirling
  • Country: gb
Re: Fitting a topbox
« Reply #5 on: June 04, 2019, 08:38:50 AM »
Thanks
Fraser and Ducati-al for the replies
No easy or cheap off the self solution 🤔
👍🏻
Full of enthusiasm - in all the wrong places

Offline lather

  • MTS 950 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
  • Bike: Multistrada 950
  • Town / City: St. Francisville
  • Country: us
Re: Fitting a topbox
« Reply #6 on: June 10, 2019, 03:41:53 PM »
SW-MOTECH Alu-Rack Luggage Rack Ducati Multistrada 1200 Enduro 2016
Finish:Black
$255.95

SW-MOTECH Alu-Rack Top Case Rack Adapter Plate
Fitment:Givi / Kappa Monokey
$39.95 $39.95

I have been using these for a year to mount my Givi 47 litre, excellent quality.
We're lost but we're making great time!

Offline briantheb

  • MTS 950 Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 158
  • Bike: M/S 950 Touring
  • Town / City: Stirling
  • Country: gb
Re: Fitting a topbox
« Reply #7 on: June 10, 2019, 04:57:29 PM »
*Originally Posted by lather [+]
SW-MOTECH Alu-Rack Luggage Rack Ducati Multistrada 1200 Enduro 2016
Finish:Black
$255.95

SW-MOTECH Alu-Rack Top Case Rack Adapter Plate
Fitment:Givi / Kappa Monokey
$39.95 $39.95

I have been using these for a year to mount my Givi 47 litre, excellent quality.
Wow thanks for that - something to look at
👍🏻
Full of enthusiasm - in all the wrong places

Offline Desmofonso

  • MTS 950 Junior
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Country: es
Re: Fitting a topbox
« Reply #8 on: June 14, 2019, 10:57:49 AM »
The Original Ducati Top Box is made by GIvi, and the lock system is the Monokey. So, you can buy the orignal rack parts as "spare parts" in any Ducati seller. The list of parts below, and for the mounting manual search "Top Case Assembly Instructions 96780582A". In my opinion Original looks very much better than Motech. The price is very similar. I buy these, and use my Givi Maxia E52 without problems.

Desc.                                     Ducati Ref.           Qty.
RH Strut Support                     473.1.D13.1AA   1
LH Strut Support                     73.1.D14.1AA   1
Spacers d7xD10xD15 H19     713.1.B27.1AA   4
Clamp Plate                             829.1.E23.1A   1
Rubber Pad Rear Plate     866.1.202.1A   1
Rubber Pad Front Plate     866.1.201.1A   1
Rubber Pad Clamp             866.1.200.1A   1
Support Plate Top Case     829.1.E22.2A   1
Screws TBEI M6x15 c.10x6     772.1.107.1A    2
Screws TBTI M6x30             718.5.039.3CA   4
Flanged Nuts DAX M6             749.4.031.1A   2
Screws TBTI M6x25             718.5.037.3CA   4
Screws TBTI M6x14             718.5.032.3CA   2

Regards.

Offline Mikey B

  • MTS 950 Junior
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Town / City: Swansea
  • Country: gb
Re: Fitting a topbox
« Reply #9 on: June 14, 2019, 03:09:00 PM »
I have also been looking for a top box for my 950. Have found a frame from Shad.

https://www.shad.co.uk/product/5137/ducati-multistrada-950-1200-1260-enduro-top-box-fitting-kit

From their website, it states all top boxes come with a mounting plate. Anybody used these before.