Author Topic: Newbie here!  (Read 2632 times)

Offline Bikerhands   gb

• MTS 950 Junior  ‐    4

Offline Bikerhands

• MTS 950 Junior
  • Bike: MTS950
  • Town / City: Consett
Newbie here!
on: November 11, 2019, 11:30:34 am
November 11, 2019, 11:30:34 am
Good day. Thought I'd join up as the weather is closing in and my MTS950 is soon to go into hibernation!

I bought this lovely red machine 2nd hand but have been blown away by the largesse spent on her by the previous owner! He must have ticked just about every box on the options list and aside from me buying the taller comfort seat, there is as far as I can tell, nothing else it needs!! I was going through the stuff it has, panniers and top box, tank bag thingy, crash bars, spot lights, centre stand, Garmin wired in and when I found a pair of the previous owners glasses I sent them off with a covering note and he replied with more history. The bike had basically been bought for trips to the south of France, which explained the squared off tyres. He seemed to have liked it, but not enough to go away and buy a BMW F800!! Me, I would have gone for a Triumph but each to their own!  I cannot figure which of the two screens is quieter (owner had fitted a higher screen but had also cracked it slightly over tightening the screws and I bought a 2nd hand MRA version)  So, now with un-squared new Dunlops (£30 off voucher, always nice) the bike goes around corners as a Ducati should. While I'm getting on a bit, I can still enjoy the way it goes around corners and can even just about understand the owner's manual! Riding around I couldn't understand what HG-OFF meant on the dash.  Went through every concept in my mind until the penny dropped. Heated grips!!  On a Ducati!! Should have known after years with BMW!  Just missing cruise control, but I rarely venture onto motorways so what would be the point?